Posted in Travelogue

Not all who wander are lost

CFBBE16C-6798-47FD-BDFD-BD06A9B0CD2FPeople have different reactions when they first learn about my upcoming journey.

Most initial, instinctual reactions are expressions of benign envy, rooted somewhere in the universal and archetypal fantasy of running away from our lives and starting over somewhere else.

But after the initial “Oh, how I wish I could do that!”, the interpretation of it generally divides people into two camps – those who dismiss it as either folly or self-indulgent whimsy, and those who get it. You know, my people.

If you are one of my people, you can skip this post.

For the the others, the first bunch, those who expect me to return with my tail between my legs and who ask things like “but what are you going to do once you’ve found yourself over there?”, please continue reading:

I am not lost.

I am probably more “found” than I’ve ever been before.

No longer will I squeeze myself into boxes too small for me, or behave in ways that cause me shame, or allow my soul to be grated into slivers until I can no longer recognize myself.

No longer will I comply with conventions designed to make you feel comfortable and powerful, but leaves me dead inside.

No longer will I live the same year over and over again and call it a life.

I finally have my own permission to be myself, and walk the earth according to my heart’s longing.

I have been blessed with the ability and the means and the courage to respond to my heart’s call.

I an open enough to walk new path, and the see the messages as I walk.

I am free to immerse myself in the Beauty of God’s great, green earth.

I am not lost.

I am a pilgrim, and I am free

Author:

“You must learn one thing: the world was made to be free in. Give up all the other worlds except the one to which you belong. Sometimes it takes darkness and the sweet confinement of your aloneness to learn anything or anyone that does not bring you alive is too small for you.” ~ David Whyte

Leave a comment