Posted in Travelogue

Via Francigena, Day 3: Montalcino to Bagno Vignoni (about 16km)

It’s hard to believe it’s only day 3.

Time did that funny thing it does when it folds back onto itself, and somehow it feels as if the months between walks (or at least since Wasabi died) belong to someone else.

It’s as if I’m coming back into focus, as if I’m returning to my breath after spending some time lost in thought.

Inbreath, space, outbreath, space.
Standing, lifting, moving, treading.
Sun in my face, wind in my hair, earth at my feet.
Up the hill, on top of the hill, down the hill.
Montalcino on my left, Montalcino at my back, Montalcino on my right.
Walk, eat, sleep, repeat.

I’m reminded of Thich Nhat Hahn, who said ~

‘People ask me, “Why do you do walking meditation?”
The best answer I can give is,
“Because I like it.”